Awards at TIFF 2021

Five prizes was awarded at the official closing ceremony for the Tromsø International Film Festival at Verdensteatret Saturday night.

Publisert 23.01.2021 — Håvard Stangnes

THE TRUFFLE HUNTERS won the Aurora Prize at TIFF 2021.

The Aurora Prize

The festival's main award, given to the best film in competition. With the award follows NOK 50.000, given by the festival to the Director of the winning film.

This year's jury: Roskva Koritzinsky, Maria Bock, Ismet Bachtiar

The winner film:
The Truffle Hunters, Italy, USA, Greece 2020
Dir: Michael Dweck & Gregory Kershaw

Honorable mentions go to:
Slalom, Frankrike 2020
Dir: Charlène Favier

Ecstasy, Brasil 2020
Dir: Moara Passoni


The international critics' prize, awarded by Federation Internationale de la Presse Cinematographique, the international umbrella organization for professional film critics and film journalists. FIPRESCI works to promote film culture and safeguard professional interests.

This year's jury: Britt Sørensen, Giuseppe Sedia, Sven Hollebeke

The winner film:
The Truffle Hunters, Italy, USA, Greece 2020
Dir: Michael Dweck & Gregory Kershaw

The Tromsø Palm

The Tromsø Palm is awarded to the best film in the sidebar Films from the North. The director of the winning film is given 5000 Euros – offered by the four resource centers for film in the Barents Region: POEM Foundation, Oulu, Finland; Filmpool Nord, Luleå, Sweden; Film i Västerbotten, Umeå, Sweden; Nordnorsk Filmsenter, Honningsvåg, Norway.

This year's jury: Carl Arne Arnesen, Espen Nomedal, Tone Lein

The winner film:
EPA, Sweden 2020
Dir: Jakob Arevärn & Fredrik Oskarsson

The Faith in Film Award

The Faith in Film Award was given for the first time in 2017. It was established by Center for Art, Culture and Church, Norwegian Church Academies and Tromsø Church Academy in collaboration with the Tromsø International Film Festival. The winner film should engage and stimulate to reflection and critical thinking about the religion’s place in society and in people’s lives.

The winner of the Faith in Film Award receives a hand-painted icon, made in the Carmelite monastary in Tromsø.

This year's jury: May Line Angell, Kjell Magne Mæhlen, Michael Heneise

The winner film:
Scarecrow, Russia 2020
Dir: Dmitry Davydov

Honorable mentions go to:
This Is Not a Burial, It’s a Resurrection, Lesotho, Italy, South Africa
Dir: Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese

The Norwegian Peace Film Award

The Norwegian Peace Film Award (NoPFA) is given to a film spotlighting direct, structural or cultural violence, and which in a creative way contributes to a deeper understanding of conflicts and violence. The award is presented by TIFF in collaboration with the Centre for Peace Studies at the University of Tromsø and the Student Network for Peace.

This year's jury: Kristine Ann Skaret, Marcela Douglas, Marija Stanic

The winner film:
There Is No Evil
, Iran, Germany Czech Republic 2020
Dir: Mohammad Rasoulof

Les også: