The Norwegian Peace Film Award

The Norwegian Peace Film Award (NoPFA) is given to a film spotlighting direct, structural or cultural violence, and which in a creative way contributes to a deeper understanding of conflicts and violence.

The award is presented by TIFF in collaboration with the Centre for Peace Studies at the University of Tromsø and the Student Network for Peace.


Ana Luisa Sanchez, Professor in Interdisciplinary Methodologies and Methods at CPS/SKK/SESAM

Helene Victoria Rosså, Student, UiT The Arctic University of Norway

Fredrik Mortensen, Filmmaker, Norway

Previous winners

2024 The Monk and the Gun, Pawo Choyning Dorji, Buthan, Another World Entertainment

2023 Tantura, Alon Schwarz, Israel, Reel Peak Films
2022 The Wasteland, Dashte Khamoush, Iran, Persia Film Distribution
2021 There Is No Evil, Mohammad Rasoulof, Iran/Germany/Czech Republic, Arthaus
2020 Made In Bangladesh, Rubaiyat Hossain, France/Bangladesh/Denmark/Portugal, Pyramide International
2019 Blindspotting, Carlos López Estrada, USA, Non Stop Entertainment
2018 A Man of Integrity, Mohammad Rasoulof, Iran, Arthaus
2017 Hunting Flies, Izer Aliu, Norway/Macedonia, Europafilm
2016 Democrats, Camilla Nielsson, Danmark, Det Danske Filminstitut
2015 Drone, Tonje Hessen Schei, Norway, Tour de Force
2014 Omar, Hany Abu-Assad, Palestine, The Match Factory
2013 Wadjd, Haifaa Al Mansour, Germany/Saudi Arabia, Arthaus
2012 Play, Ruben ôstlund, Sweden, Arthaus
2011 Hands Up, Roman Goupil, France
2010 The Other Bank George Owashvili, Georgia/Kazakhstan
2009 Vals med Bashir / Waltz With Bashir, Ari Folman, Israel
2008 Little Moth, Tao Peng, China
2007 The Cats of Mirikitani, Linda Hattendorf, USA
2006 Shooting Dogs, Michael Caton-Jones, UK
2005 Beautiful City, Asghar Farhadi, Iran
2004 In This World, Michael Winterbottom, UK