The Faith in Film Award

The Faith in Film Award was given for the first time in 2017. It was established by Center for Art, Culture and Church, Norwegian Church Academies and Tromsø Church Academy in collaboration with the Tromsø International Film Festival.

SCARECROW by Russian director Dmitry Davydov won the Faith in film Award at TIFF 2021.

The winner film should engage and stimulate to reflection and critical thinking about the religion’s place in society and in people’s lives.

The winner of the Faith in Film Award receives a hand-painted icon, made in the Carmelite monastary in Tromsø.

Jury 2021

May Line Angell, Kjell Magne Mæhlen, Michael Heneise

Previous winners

2021 Scarecrow, Dmitry Davydov, Russia
2020 Balloon, Pema Tseden, China, Redience
2019 Happy as Lazzaro, Alice Rohrwacher, Italy/Switzerland/France/Germany, Arthaus
2018 Per Fugelli – siste resept, Erik Poppe, Norway, Nordisk Film Distribusjon
2017 Forever Pure, Maya Zinshtein. Israel/UK/Norway