The Don Quixote Prize

The Don Quixote Prize is awarded by FICC (Federation internationale des cine-clubs). Founded in 1947 during the Cannes Film Festival, FICC/IFFS is an international umbrella organization for film societies and non-profit cinemas. The Italian film director Gianni Amelio is the honorary president of the FICC.

One of the aims of FICC is to promote outstanding films for a broader audience. FICC awards the Don Quixote Prize at selected film festivals, such as Berlin, Cottbus, Karlovy Vary and Locarno. TIFF had the honor of hosting FICC for the first time in 2000.

Jury 2022

João Paulo Macedo, Peter Stuart Robinson, Holger Twele

Previous winners

2020 Collective, Alexander Nanau, Romania/Luxembourg, Cinephil
2019 Birds Of Passage, Cristina Gallego & Ciro Guerra, Colombia/Denmark/Mexico, MER Film
2018 Soldiers.Story From Ferentari, Ivana Mladenović, Romania/Serbia/Belgium, Beta Cinema
2017 Heartstone, Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundson, Iceland, Tour de Force
2016 The Academy Of Muses, José Luis Guerín, Spain, Los Films de Orfeo
2015 The Look Of Silence, Joshua Oppenheimer, Denmark/Finland/Indonesia/Norway/UK, Piraya Film
2014 I Stop Time, Gunilla Bresky, Sweden/Norway, SFI
2013 In The House, François Ozon, Frankrike
2012 Stopped On Track / Halt Auf Freier Strecke, Tyskland, The Match Factory
2011 Incendies, Denis Villeneuve, Canada
2010 Whisper With The Wind, Shahram Alidi, Iraq
2009 It’s Not Me, I Swear!, Philippe Falardeau, Canada
2008 Kautokeino-opprøret / The Kautokeino Rebellion, Nils Gaup, Norway
2007 Longing, Valeska Grisebach, Germany
2006 Ryna, Ruxandra Zenide, Romania
2005 Blikket / The Gaze, Nour Eddine Lakhmari, Morocco
2004 Vodka Lemon, Hiner Saleem, Armenia
2003 Engelen På Den Høyre Skulderen / Angel On The Right, Jamshed Usmonov, Tajikistan
2002 Søstre / Sisters, Sergei Bodrov Jr., Russia